Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

July 21, 2021

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 15, 2021, with the hearings commencing at 9:00 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Su	pre n	ne C	ourt

The Honorable	Kave G. Hearn.	Conway, SC
	The Honorable	The Honorable Kave G. Hearn,

Court of Appeals Seat 5, Chief Judge

The Honorable H. Bruce Williams, Columbia, SC

Seat 9

The Honorable David Garrison "Gary" Hill, Greenville,

SC

Circuit Court

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC

Heath Preston Taylor, Gaston, SC

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Diane Schafer Goodstein, Summerville,

SC

2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Courtney Pope, Aiken, SC

3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Ralph Ferrell Cothran Jr., Manning, SC

4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Paul M. Burch, Pageland, SC

5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Daniel McLeod Coble, Columbia, SC

Kevin A. Hall, Columbia, SC Theresa N. Johns, Columbia, SC

Regina Hollins Lewis, Columbia, SC	
The Honorable Amy McCulloch, Columbia	a, SC
Kate Whetstone Usry, Columbia, SC	

S. Boyd Young, Columbia, SC

6 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Brian M. Gibbons, Chester, SC
8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Frank Robert Addy Jr., Greenwood, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Perry H. Gravely, Pickens, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Alex Kinlaw Jr., Greenville, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Steven H. John, Little River, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William A. McKinnon, Rock Hill, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Daniel Hall, York, SC The Honorable Teasa Kay Weaver, York, SC
Family Court 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Myesha Latrice Brown, Ladson, SC The Honorable Michael H. Murphy, III, Summerville, SC
1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	Deanne M. Gray, Summerville, SC Jenny A. Horne, Summerville, SC Margie A. Pizarro, Summerville, SC
2 nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Vicki J. Snelgrove, Aiken, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Thomas M. Bultman, Sumter, SC
4 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Cely Anne Brigman, Darlington, SC
4 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	Eugene P. Warr Jr., Lamar, SC
5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable C. Vance Stricklin Jr., Columbia, SC
5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Gwendlyne Young Jones, Irmo, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Usha J. Bridges, Gaffney, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Mindy W. Zimmerman, Newberry, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Daniel E. Martin Jr., Charleston, SC

9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Michèle Patrão Forsythe, Charleston, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	Elisabeth Hoover, Ridgeville, SC
10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Floy C. Kenyon, Anderson, SC
10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Karen F. Ballenger, Seneca, SC
11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William Gregory Seigler, McCormick, SC
12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC The Honorable Holly Huggins Wall, Johnsonville, SC The Honorable Elizabeth Biggerstaff York, Florence, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Katherine Hall Tiffany, Taylors, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Karen Sanchez Roper, Sunset, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Douglas L. Novak, Bluffton, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Melissa J. Buckhannon, Myrtle Beach, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	Melissa M. Frazier, Little River, SC Heather S. von Herrmann, North Myrtle Beach, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Thomas H. White IV, Union, SC
Administrative Law Court Seat 2	The Honorable Milton G. Kimpson, Columbia, SC
Master-in-Equity Allendale County	The Honorable Walter H. Sanders Jr., Barnwell, SC
Anderson and Oconee Counties	The Honorable Steven Coleman Kirven, Anderson, SC
Charleston County	The Honorable Mikell R. Scarborough, Charleston, SC
Clarendon County	The Honorable Joseph K. Coffey, Manning, SC
Dorchester County	The Honorable James E. Chellis, Summerville, SC
Horry County	Alan Clemmons, Myrtle Beach, SC Charles B. Jordan Jr., Myrtle Beach, SC Douglas M. Zayicek, Conway, SC

Sumter County The Honorable Michael M. Jordan, Sumter, SC

Retired
Family Court

The Honorable Jack Alan Landis, Charleston, SC The Honorable William J. Wylie Jr., Summerville, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, November 1, 2021.** The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at:

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.